top of page

Mid-Year Portfolio


Mustang Magazine 68 is a show displaying the videos produced in October 2019 by NHS TV students. Most of the videos are centered around fall festivities and school activities. Some of the major stories were about the award winning marching band, a town-wide pumpkin float, and a boy who creates Star Wars helmets.

For this production, I was an anchor and produced two of the segments played. I believe I could have done better anchoring because I started laughing at some points and stumbled through some words. The first segment of mine that played was about the Norwood Recreation's first annual pumpkin float. The story idea was rather unique and was a great example of a community building event. In the story, I had a variety of shots of the pumpkins lying around the pond and others floating across the water. However, I feel as though my audio needed some work because there was a lot of loud sounds in the background during my interview shot. I feel as though if my story had better audio it would have been a better addition to the show. The second segment that I helped produced that played in the show was Area 52. I believe it was a decent film that had rather good editing. However, the beginning could have been shot in a different location to match the composition of the rest of the film. Using the Meadow Brook school really added to school and really gave the film a cleaner/ creepier feel. I thought the film ended the show nicely because it was a bit different than everything else on the show.

The most interesting story on the show was the marching band story that started off the show. They had a variety of b-roll that complimented the dialogue in the story. Also, it had a very good interview shot with the boys instrument which connected to the overall meaning of the story. I felt as though the natural sound really added to the story and made it more enjoyable.

The person who made the script did a good job with the order of stories because it started and ended with strong videos. In regards to anchors, I think Thomas and I did a decent job considering neither of us had anchored before. Overall, I really enjoyed this mustang magazine.


RECENT POST
bottom of page