top of page

Final Exam Show


Recently, my class and I produced a mustang magazine. My role in the pre-production phase was the News Director. In this role, I wrote the basics of a script for my anchors then allowed my anchors to add special touches into the script as they saw fit. In addition to this, I went through the provided videos to put into the show and went through seeing which ones were in what folders. I then instructed the technical portion of the crew to check whether the videos were in the pix. Some were not in the pix so I helped locate them in the server and upload them to the pix. In addition to this, I assigned people jobs in the pre-production including making the teaser as well as credits. Also, as a part of pre-production we did a practice day which I organized.

My role for the production was basically to be wherever people needed me. I helped with the lighting of the anchor shot as well as the teleprompter which was not cooperating. I reminded the switcher as the show was going on which one to have up next and what transitions I thought would look best.

The on air camera were rather strong, however, they were not the best with the pronunciation of names. They showed emotion and seemed very comfortable together. The anchors did have a bit of a laughing problem but we were able to work it out when we were practicing. There were a few lines that they said in a rather odd way including Stephen's comment on Dan's love for his puppies. Also, their diction was very good and what they were saying was very clear.

Healthy Blends was a rather strong story. I thought it provided great, relevant b-roll. The story was a bit long, but overall it seemed rather strong. It was an interesting topic to do a story on ,especially, since it is something in our town with an interesting new product.

Overall, I thought we did a great job working together through issues. We all did what we needed to do to make the production work. I believe that most of us did a great job carrying our weight in the production.

I believe that I can improve on my directing skills, and I can write a better script. It definitely was not my best work ,so if there is a next time I will spend more time really making it the best script I can. Also, next time we should have the credits set up for the taping of the production. I would also re-frame the anchor shot so that it is in front of the TVs instead of the wall because I believe it looks better. I believe the shot we had was rather mediocre and would have been better if they were in front of the TVs. Another issue I have with our production is that it is rather silent. I believe we should have had music playing at the beginning and the end of the magazine.

There was a good amount of technical issues that we could not prevent. These include the teleprompter freezing ,so we had to manually scroll it. Also, the pix was showing the wrong amount of time so cuing the anchors correctly was rather difficult.

All in all, I believe it was a decent production especially considering the technological challenges that we faced. Most people were not in the positions they are usually comfortable with , so it was impressive to see how people worked hard to get used to the technology. However, I believe that the production as a whole could have been a lot better and I am disappointed about that.


RECENT POST
bottom of page